ferrero rocher cupcakes

(all images by jetsetbarbie)

The Austrian and I have really been getting into the holiday spirit the last few days.  We’ve met friends for punsch at several Christmas markets, bought and decorated our Christmas tree and holiday playlists have dominated our itunes.  One candy that always reminds me of Christmas is Ferrero Rocher chocolates.  ”Santa”(aka my mom) knows how much I love them and always puts them in my stocking each year.  I decided to try another Hummingbird Bakery recipe and adapted it into my version of a Ferrero Rocher cupcake.  I was quite please with the results but once again, the amount of powdered (icing) sugar can DEFINITELY be cut down considerably…the frosting turned out a bit too sweet for my taste and I will adjust it accordingly next time around.  Recipe below.  Happy baking!

(adding the egg is the last step for the batter)

(I decided to experiment and placed a few frozen chocolates into the batter)

(I mashed up some Rochers into the Nutella before adding to the frosting base)

(version one:  frosted with chopped hazelnut topping)

(version two: top with a whole Rocher for decoration)

Ingredients:

100 g all-purpose flour

20 g cocoa powder

110 g caster (extra fine) sugar

30 g light brown sugar

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

a pinch of salt

40 g unsalted butter, room temp

120 ml whole milk

1 egg, room temp

for the frosting:

250 g icing sugar*, sifted

20 g cocoa powder

80 g unsalted butter, room temp

25 ml whole milk

80 g Nutella

5-6 Forrero Rocher chocolates

Directions:

1)  Preheat oven to 170 C (325 F).

2)  Put flour, cocoa powder, sugars, baking powder, salt and butter in a large bowl and using a handheld electric whisk, beat on slow speed until you get a sandy consistency and everything is combined.

3)  Slowly pour the milk into the flour mixture, beating well until all the ingredients are well mixed.

4)  Add the egg and beat well.

5)  Spoon the mixture into paper lined muffin cups until about two-thirds full.  If adding frozen rochers into the mix, fill only about halfway and then push the rocher into the mix.  It does not need to be covered by the batter (the batter will rise and cover it in the oven).

6)  Bake in the preheated oven for about 17-19 min, or until the sponge bounces back when touched.  Let the cupcakes cool slightly in the tray before removing and placing on a wire rack to cool completely.

Note:  Per the original recipe, when the cupcakes are cold you can hollow them out and fill with Nutella if you like.

For the frosting:

1)  Beat the icing sugar, cocoa powder and butter together on medium-slow speed until well mixed.

2)  Turn the mixer down to a slower speed and slowly pour in the milk.

3)  When the milk is all incorporated, turn the mixer to high speed and continue beating for at least 5 minutes until light and fluffy.

4)  Mash some Ferrero Rochers (I used 6) together with the Nutella and mix through with a spoon until combined.

5)  Stir the Nutella mix into the frosting by hand until evenly combined.

6)  When the cupcakes are cold, spoon the frosting on top and the decorate however you like (see pics above for examples).

*I highly recommend using less icing sugar than stated.  I used the recommended amount and found the frosting a bit too sweet.  That is actually why I added some cocoa powder to the frosting mix.  It helped tone down the sweetness.

Yields 12.

Comments

  1. Oh my goodness, I bet these are delish!! If I get to try these out over the holidays, I’ll comment how they turned out! Thanks!

  2. These look amazing!

  3. i love ferrero rocher and nutella!!

  4. Hi!!!I love rochers,and I loved your idea to put frozen rochers in the batter.I used a different cupcake recipe,but i put the frozen rochers in the batter,and they came out great!Thank you very much!I loved it!I also found a Nutella frosting recipe on Pinterest,that went great with it!

What's on your mind?

